Workers Compensation – Heading Off Losses
Pre-Employment Screening for Workers Comp Losses
By Judith Paine, Account Manager at Warriner & Associates Insurance
By Chris McCarty, President at Warriner Solutions
Texas trucking companies struggle with a high employee turnover rate when it comes to drivers. Part of the competitive advantage a trucking company has when it comes to hiring is in the benefits and well-being provided to the drivers and all employees in the company. Sadly, however, certain benefits are taken for granted and sometimes misused – frequently so with workers compensation injuries and benefits. But, there is a tool you can use to head off problem employees – before you hire them.
The Texas Workers Compensation Act provides for the release of certain prior work related injury information to prospective Texas employers who provide workers compensation insurance.
DWC Form-156 “Prospective Employment Authorization and Certification” is the document prospective employers must use to obtain prior work injury information directly from the Texas Department of Insurance.
What you get with DWC Form-156
- A report on the job applicant of any prior work related injury claims – but only if the applicant has made two or more general injury claims in the last five years. Job applicants with only one claim in 5 years will not generate a report or details.
- Report will include injury details and date of occurrence. Claims details will not include monetary details of losses.
How DWC Form-156 helps
- Understand the nature of your applicants workers comp history before you hire
- The form requires the prospective employee’s signed consent. Requiring the form as a pre-employment procedure will help screen out applicants with fraudulent or questionable workers compensation loss histories
- Use of DWC Form-156 must be uniform in your pre-employment screening process – use it for all applicants, or none at all.
- The information request takes time to submit via mail, process and return results – approximately 10 business days. Consider how your company will work this into your pre-screening workflow.
- There is a cost of $2.00 per request, payable by check, though many employers establish a deposit account to draw from with Texas Department of Insurance.
DWC Form-156 is available directly from the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation website: http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/dwc/dwc156.pdf
Posted on Tue, June 3, 2014